So many states are legalizing marijuana and changing their drug laws, it’s hard to keep up with them. Some states let you use it for medicinal purposes only. Others allow you to use it recreationally as well. It’s important that you know the drug laws in Connecticut. If you’ve been arrested or charged with a drug offense, you may need to call a Connecticut defense lawyer. Your attorney knows the laws. They know what penalties the different criminal offenses carry with them. He can try to negotiate a reduction in your charges or a dismissal. It depends on the circumstances of your case.
Connecticut has decriminalized marijuana for recreational purposes. This doesn’t mean that you won’t get into some trouble for being caught with it in your possession. It just means that you won’t be facing jail time if you’re caught with small amounts of marijuana on you. You’ll still be facing fines and other possible penalties. And, the penalties are much higher if you’re caught with enough of the drug to be considered a drug dealer.
If you get pulled over and have just a small amount of weed on you, it’ll be treated like a minor traffic offense. Unless it’s not your first offense. Subsequent offenses do carry stiffer fines and penalties.
What are the Fines for Possession of Marijuana in Connecticut?
If you get caught with less than half an ounce of marijuana on you, you’ll face some minor fines. In Connecticut, the fines for minor possession of marijuana are as follows:
- Less than half an ounce will be a fine of $150-500
- If you’re caught with more than half an ounce on you, the fines will be up to $2,00 and you’ll face up to a year in jail
- If you’re caught with paraphernalia on you, the fines will be the same as they are for half an ounce
In Connecticut, there are special rules for medicinal marijuana. First, you have to prove that you have a qualifying condition. You’ll be entitled to use it for medicinal use if a doctor approved your prescription for marijuana
If you get pulled over, be prepared to show your medicinal marijuana card to the police. If you don’t have it on you, it’ll be treated as if you don’t have a legal prescription for the drug. Also, Connecticut doesn’t honor other states’ medicinal marijuana cards. If you’re visiting from some other state, you don’t want to get caught with any of the drug on you. Otherwise, you’ll face the same fines as outlined above.
You Can Be Arrested for DUI for Marijuana
Just because marijuana is approved for recreational use in Connecticut doesn’t mean you can overindulge. Alcohol is legal and you can still get arrested for DUI. The same is true for marijuana.
If you get pulled over and the police believe you’re intoxicated, you’ll have to do a field sobriety test. Now, they can’t test for marijuana the way they can for alcohol. There is no breathalyzer test that detects how much you’ve smoked. This means the cops will make their decision based strictly on the field sobriety test. They’ll also look for objective things such as:
- Red eyes
- Dilated pupils
- Slurring words
- Hand-eye coordination
- Smell of marijuana
- How much marijuana they find on your person or in your car
If the cops think you’re intoxicated, you will be arrested for DUI. The only difference is, it’ll be easier for your criminal defense attorney in Connecticut to get the charges dismissed. He can show that there was another reason why you didn’t perform well on the field sobriety test. Or, he can show that the police had no basis to stop you in the first place.
Contact a Connecticut Defense Lawyer
If you’ve been arrested for possession of marijuana or are facing DUI charges, call a Connecticut defense lawyer today. You could be facing stiff fines or even jail time. Your lawyer can fight to get the charges reduced or dismissed. Call and schedule your initial consultation today. Even though marijuana has been decriminalized in Connecticut, doesn’t mean you aren’t facing serious consequences. There’s no good reason to face them alone.