What Things Make the Penalties for Drug Distribution Worse in Connecticut?

What Things Make the Penalties for Drug Distribution Worse in Connecticut?
Things that Make the Penalties for Drug Distribution Worse in Connecticut

If you get charged with drug distribution in Connecticut, you’ll be facing some serious penalties. Whether you’re a minor drug dealer or a major distributor, the consequences can be quite severe. Most of these charges carry a mandatory jail term.

If you’re caught selling narcotics in the State of Connecticut, you’ll face the following penalties:

  • 1st offense: up to 15 years in jail and a fine of up to $50,000
  • 2nd offense: up to 30 years in jail and fines of up to $100,000
  • Subsequent offenses carry a sentence of 30 years and fines of $250,000

There are cases where someone charged with this offense can receive a 3-year alternate sentence with a conditional release. As long as you don’t get into any more trouble after your conditional release, you won’t have to serve any more time.

If you get charged with selling non-narcotics, you’ll still face some pretty stiff penalties. The penalties for drug distribution that are not narcotics are as follows:

  • 1st offense: up to 7 years in jail and fines of up to $25,000
  • 2nd offense: up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $100,000

As with the sale of narcotics, your criminal lawyer in Connecticut can get you a 3-year alternate sentence. This will also come with a conditional release.

Regardless of what type of crime you’re charged with, you need a Connecticut criminal lawyer. You also have to be aware of a few things that can make your offense more serious.

Selling Drugs to a Minor

If you’re an adult and you’re caught selling drugs to a minor, your penalties will be more severe. The person you sell the drugs to has to be at least 2 years younger than you to qualify for this penalty.

For example, if you’re 18 and you get caught selling drugs to a 15-year old, there will be an additional penalty. This offense will add a minimum and mandatory jail sentence of three (3) years.

Hiring a Minor to Sell Drugs for You

A lot of drug dealers recruit kids from the high school and middle schools to sell drugs for them. This is one way they manage to make money from selling drugs to children. The courts have put laws into place to try to discourage people from doing this.

If you’re caught hiring a minor to sell drugs for you, there will be a mandatory, additional sentence of three (3) years. This term will be applied consecutively. This means that you’ll have to serve that extra three years. It won’t run concurrently with the sentence for your underlying crime.

Drug Distribution in a School Zone

Many years ago, the legislature in Connecticut (and many other states) enacted rules about selling drugs in a school zone. You’ll be charged with a separate offense if you’re caught selling drugs within 1500 fee of the following areas:

  • Elementary school
  • Secondary school
  • Day care center
  • Public housing project

If you are charged and convicted of this offense, you’ll be ordered a mandatory three (3) year jail sentence. As with the above offenses, you’ll have to serve 3 years on top of the sentence for the underlying crime.

If the Person You Sell Drugs to Dies

More people in America die from a drug overdose than they do car accidents. This is a scary statistic. For a long time, the biggest fear was that your child would die in a drunk driving accident. Now things have changed.

In order to try to discourage people from selling illegal drugs, the laws have become stricter. If you sell drugs to someone and they die as a result, you will receive a harsh sentence.

The drugs that fall under this umbrella are cocaine, heroin and methadone. If someone overdoses or dies from the drugs you sell them, you’ll be facing life in prison. People convicted of this crime aren’t eligible for parole. You can even be sentenced to death.

If the aggravating factors outweigh the mitigating factors, you could be sentenced to death.

Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Connecticut

If you’re convicted of possession with intent to sell in Connecticut, you’ll be facing some harsh consequences. You’re going to need to hire a criminal defense lawyer in Connecticut. It’s really important that your lawyer get you the best deal possible if you want to avoid a long prison sentence.

Call today and talk to an experienced criminal lawyer in Connecticut. There’s too much at stake to try to handle this yourself.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Federal Courts Rule that Connecticut’s Juvenile Transfer Act Violates 1st Amendment
What is a “Speedy Trial” Trial and Decision?
Danbury Couple to Be Arraigned for Embezzlement Involving Youth Baseball
Everything You Need to Know About Arraignment

Please do not include any confidential or sensitive information in this form. This form sends information by non-encrypted e-mail which is not secure.

Submitting this form does not create an attorney-client relationship.